« Fully-Autonomous Vehicle Driven by Mac OS X | Main | Another switcher about to see the light... »

Careerbuilder.com continues to allow scam artists to post jobs

 Images Nav LogocbA few weeks ago I posted a piece about the new way to get spammed and scammed. Apparently, even after repeated warnings to Careerbuilder.com about the less than honest job postings I have been getting bombarded with, they continue to let unscrupulous individuals post jobs to lure unsuspecting and naive job seekers into their web of deceit. The most recent email comes from yet another Russian company and goes like this:

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Hello,
GLOD-Soft Lab is a fast-growing software development company that produces determinent IT solutions for its customers worlwide.
Over the past few years, it has been located in Eastern Europe. GLOD-soft has became one of the major partners in succeful fast-growing business.
Since 1994, GLOD-Soft has successfully operated at the determinent software development market providing our customers from Western Europe, USA and Canada with reasonably priced high quality software products and services.
Now, we focuse our business development strategy on expanding our US, UK and Canada market presence and you have an opportunity to join one of the most successful and fast growing companies in the custom software development market.

Our company head office is located in Moscow, Russia and also we have departments in Ukraine and Belarus. In the nearest future we plan to open our representation in Germany. As a result of the Canadian, UK and US market research we are convinced that our products have a good sales potential.
But after we have mave made approach to sell our programs, we regret to find out that we can't provide our customers sufficient payment options flexibility. Most of our clients prefer payment options that are not represented in Russia yet or lead to incredible charges.

We're looking for someone sincere, punctual and responsible who can help us to gain payments flexibility. The job we offer requires receiving payments from clients for our services and remitting the sum to our manager via Western Union.
Do not turn this offer down! Great opportunity!
Best Regards,
Alex Sahov
---------------------------------------------------------------------

Warning - THIS IS A SCAM. NO legit company that has anything good to sell will ask you to funnel their money via your personal checking account and then Western Union them the cash! If they can't afford to do business in the US, then they should stick to their country and not pollute us with their useless warez.

Be careful and remember - if it seems to good to be true, it usually is!

Comments

I had to dig, but I found the company does not exist.
Here is an excellent article on this and similar scams: http://www.aarp.org/bulletin/consumer/wireless_bank_heist.html

A woman in Texas claims the forged $3,670 check she cashed against my account came from Glod-Soft. When I called her, she got out the job description that Glod-Soft had posted on careerbuilder.com. ``We're looking for someone sincere, punctual and responsible ,'' she read. The woman later told me she had lost her job recently.
Maybe some television stations could run stories on how people get rooked in by these scams. If this woman's story is true, she got duped. She said she had cashed a few Glod-Soft checks. Police reports are being filed, and she is responsible for the money robbed from me and the others.

We (Members of ScamFraudAlert.com & Scam.com) began seeing scammers posing as legitimate employers on Careerbuilder the beginning of this year. It is now August 2005 and this is still going on.

I am wondering if CareerBuilder have any plans to protecting job seekers for being scam. Or is there business model is LOOK for WORK on our board AT YOUR OWN RISK or use our database at YOUR OWN RISK.

What in the hell is going on at CareerBuilder. There ought to be a management changed.

I got duped from a Careerbuilder.com job scam. I was arrested, falsely charged and I went through nine months of living hell in and out of court until the charge was finally dropped. But today I still cannot get a job because the someone blocks all my leads.

Very nice blog.

The same scam is now operating as "AvaSoft Line" (avasoftline.net).

Do not post a job on Careerbuilder .com. They are scam artist.They take your money and keep post your job to a backend board that you will never get any traffic. Monster.com is the way to go.Stay away from Michael Post he will not help you at all.

Bobbie Jean, I would like to know more about your situation, as I am probably looking at the same dismal outcome. I can be reached at tadams76063@sbcglobal.net

Thank You,

Tina

I've had the same miserable experience with CareerBuilder.

Thus far, I've mostly received "offers" from multi-level marketing companies, but just this morning received a message very similar to the one above. This time, however, the scammers used a real company's name, claiming that they only had offices in Latvia.

Their mistake, perhaps, was to give the URL of the real company, which plainly lists offices all over the globe. Interestingly, they DO NOT have an office in Latvia, and DO have a whole host of offices in the United States.

I plan to contact the company in question, whose name and credibility are being used to promote fraudulent activity.

Yeah, having a similar experience with Careerbuilder. I signed up about three weeks ago. Since then I get (on average) an email a day from an obvious scammer. Most are pretty blatant, but a couple on first glance look pretty legit. Only on the second and third glance you realized you never applied for these jobs, and they don't even appear to be germaine to your field. For instance got an email offering me a "job" in sales...But I'm a writer with no sales experience. Its a nuisance for me and I know because of it I will eventually ignore a genuine freelance / contract job. But I real feel for the people desperate for work who get sucked into this. Bad business Careerbuilder.

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)


Please enter the security code you see here

January 2007

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      

dreamhost



Technorati


Add to Technorati Favorites

Get LinkedIn!

View Frank Bisono's profile on LinkedIn

Archives

Creative Commons License

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Linkage








© 2006 : Frank Bisono
::: Bisonium.com :::