« Podlicious Tuesday | Main | Indie Content Takes Over the World »

CareerBuilder.com - the new way to SPAM & SCAM you.

Spammers and scam artists just don't know when to quit. We have all learned to accept that we cannot control the fact that we will get spam and not all of it will make it through the filtering systems we have put in place. It's just something we have to live with for the time being. But to get spammed and scammed by someone posing to offer you a job via a "respected and trusted" career site, is an entirely different animal.

In the latest attempt to lure unsuspecting users into making some cash, a "Russian" company has given a new twist to the good 'ol Nigerian money scam. The email, which comes via CareerBuilder.com, presents you with the opportunity to work for this European based company, that wishes to expand into the US market with their great software product. They speak of their expansion plans and how much potential their product has to be successful. But the poor saps can't seem to get a normal US based bank account to receive payment for their software. Boo Hoo. So the "job" entails you accepting payment for THEIR software, via YOUR bank account. And then of course, you are supposed to make nice and WIRE them CASH via Western Union to the "manager" in Russia.

Are you friggin kidding me? The fact that their grammar is atrocious is one thing. But to insult my intelligence with this stupidity is another thing entirely. They don't even bother to mention what your "pay" will be for providing them the opportunity to sell their product via YOUR bank account, in the USA. Gotta love it.

How something like this gets through the folks at Career Builder is beyond me. Maybe I should seriously reconsider where I am putting my resume these days?

Mailscreensnapz001

Comments

Careerbuilder seems to result in nothing but SPAM for me--from the idiots trolling for people to sign up with their (for-pay) placement services to the dorks wanting me to become a "financial advisor" (read "sales dweeb"), I can't remember *any* useful lead coming from them.

I changed the email address on my resume and uploaded the new resume to Careerbuilder and the next day I started receiving spam on a (formerly) clean email address. I am livid. I want to use that address for legitimate job and writing correspondance, not the sort of garbage mentioned by the previous commenter.

Just like the previous 2 comments, I am also being barraged by spam from Careerbuilder. Not temp services, outright, obvious spam some of it from the UK and Hong Kong. Career Builder claims to "try" to screen employers and no, they will not help me to stop it. I have even tried changing my email address and have requested my account be deleted. Instead I have started getting even more spam. I am also absolutely livid and have found Career Builder to be an utter waste of time.

CAREER BUILDER Sucks! All Spam!
My email address is now useless. Never post a real email address!

I'll stay with Dice and I do get calls and interviews. I get about 5 legitimate jobs emailed to me each day from Dice and Monster and 10+ more CB spam. The few legitimate offers from CB are junk mass mailings usually from off shore firms with bad English skills. Usually if the job looks good, I can search for it and often find it at Dice. I will never work with a recruiter or company who contacts me via CB.

Same here, but I never signed up for Career Builder with this email addy. The spammers get the email addy from other places - for me it was being stupid and trying to find out about a non-secured credit card online. I thought I was giving my addy to Visa to email me back about the card, but of course I got spammed to death instead. I started writing back to the spammers with made up names like Ollie Tabooger (I'll eat a booger) and Ahmed Adoodie (I made a doodie). I got a couple to believe me and some pretty funny emails went back and forth before I broke it off. My bro was emailing Nigerian scammers when he would get the spam messages. He ended up getting about $500 worth of *fake* travelers checks in the mail.. good stuff. Check out http://www.ebolamonkeyman.com/

word to your mom.

Signing up on CareerBuilder has certainly opened up the spam on my business email address. Beware!

I have been inundated with spam proporting to be from CareerBuilder (the headers would seem to indicate otherwise) at an email address that is neither my personal email nor has it never been on any resume. It is a website@... address that has only ever been used on a site for people to contact the webmaster and had long since been replaced with a form to avoid email harvesters.

I have never used Career Builder, which was not even in existance the last time I was out looking for a job.

I submitted a resume for a CB posted job -- a legitimate job BTW as I talked with them later. I did not upload the resume to CB itself, and I've check multiples times and the CB website says I have no resume uploade. Yet, within days of submitted that resume I started getting CB spam e-mail like that described by others here. So somewhere/somehow CB is making visible what is supposed to be private & confidential information, in my case a resume / job app submitted to a single employer.

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)


Please enter the security code you see here

September 2008

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        

dreamhost



Technorati


Get LinkedIn!

View Frank Bisono's profile on LinkedIn

Archives

Creative Commons License

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Linkage








© 2006 : Frank Bisono
::: Bisonium.com :::